8th Circular, 05 May 2019


Welcome to this 8th Circular for the 10th International Penguin Conference being held in Dunedin, New Zealand 24 – 28 August 2019.
This circular is a reminder that the Early Bird Registrations close on May 24th, so register now! It also contains information about the abstracts and bursaries, and a draft conference programme.


Thank you to everyone who submitted an abstract for either an oral or poster presentation, and a travel bursary. A massive 195 abstracts were received. The International Scientific Committee are assessing these as this Circular is being written. If you submitted one, you can expect to hear whether it was accepted very soon, in time for you to still take advantage of the early bird registration to attend the conference. Travel bursary applications are also being assessed. We received applications for more than 10 times the funding we have to distribute – it is great to see the interest in attending this event in Dunedin.


An overview of the daily start and finish times and key highlights is now online.

This will be updated as we have further elements of the programme confirmed.


Remember that the conference registration is now open and early bird closes on 24 May 2019.

You can register here https://www.otago.ac.nz/conferences/penguin-conference/

Gentoo penguins

Gentoo penguins

Local organising committee:

   Lloyd S Davis, Phil Seddon, Yolanda van Heezik (University of Otago)
   Thomas Mattern (University of Otago/Global Penguin Society)
   Bruce McKinlay (Department of Conservation)
   Sue Murray (Yellow-Eyed Penguin Trust)
   Philippa Agnew (Oamaru Penguin Colony)
   Hoani Langsbury (Pukekura Trust)

International Scientific Committee:

   Peter Barham (University of Bristol)
   Dee Boersma (University of Washington)
   Pablo Garcia Borboroglu (Global Penguin Society, CONICET)
   Lloyd Davis (University of Otago)
   Sue Murray (Yellow-Eyed Penguin Trust)
   Phil Trathan (British Antarctic Survey)
   Heather Urquhart (New England Aquarium)
   Lauren Waller (Leiden Conservation Fellow, SANCCOB)