6th Circular, 08 March 2019


Welcome to this 6th Circular for the 10th International Penguin Conference being held in Dunedin, New Zealand 24 – 28 August 2019.
This circular contains information about the bursaries, workshops and keynote addresses. Keep checking our website as further information will be added as it is confirmed.


The abstract submission deadline is approaching fast.

Please submit your abstract by 29 March 2019.


We are pleased to be able to announce we can now offer some bursaries to assist people with the costs of attending the conference.

These bursaries are intended mainly to help students, but we may also be able to assist others who, for good reasons, are unable to raise sufficient funds to attend the conference. Priority will be given to those who are most likely either to make a significant contribution to the conference and associated workshops, or who we believe will gain the most from the experience of attending the conference.

We will waive the conference fees of students who are awarded bursaries. For successful applicants, we will make a contribution to travel and subsistence costs depending on their travel costs to New Zealand.

To apply for a travel bursary please use the application form.

We intend to award the bursaries around the middle of May prior to closing the early bird registration.


Hoani Langsbury (New Zealand)
Hoani is an ecologist, and being being of both Kai Tahu and European descent is able to move between both world views. He works directly with with Little Blue Penguins at Pukekura and provides advice on behalf of Kai Tahu to the Department of Conservation and other crown researchers with regard to interactions with our Taonga species. In his address he will touch on the work of the Pukekura Trust at Pilots Beach responsible for the well-being of the Little Penguins that are associated with the whenua (land) there. He will also provide insight at a governance level on the aspirations we have for our taoka (treasured) species and how this is given effect too through our relationship with our treaty partners.

Mike Williams (New Zealand)
Mike is a Physical Oceanographer and climate change programme leader, who is interested in the how climate change is affecting New Zealand, the oceans around New Zealand, and the wider Southern Ocean. Mike will combine an understanding of change in the ocean from historical observations with projections of the future ocean to enable us to understand where and when significant change can be expected. He will focus on the projected changes in the oceans around New Zealand, in the New Zealand subantarctic and in the Ross Sea.

Ralph Vanstreels (Brazil)
Ralph is a Brazilian veterinarian at the Institute of Research and Rehabilitation of Marine Animals (Brazil).  His work focuses on the diseases of penguins, trying to understand how their health status and pathogens may impact their population ecology and conservation.

Ramūnas Žydelis (Lithuania)
Ramūnas is working for Ornitela, a bird telemetry company based in Lithuania. He has studied the foraging ecology and habitat use by seaducks in the Baltic Sea. These studies exposed him to an alarming issue of seabird bycatch in fishing nets, a global problem or local issue? Can net fisheries be managed in a sustainable way with respect to seabird populations?

André Chiandria (Australia)
André chases penguins for a living. Together with collaborators from all continents, he works on ecosystem ecology using penguins as a model. Penguin biologists, like most researchers working on long-lived animals, became incidental climate change scientists. Despite their charismatic appeal, almost 70 % of all penguin species populations are decreasing. By breeding on land but foraging at sea, penguins are forced to deal with problems in both systems. Penguins evolved over 60 million years ago, André’s talk is about their biggest challenges to survive over the next 50 years.

Find more information about the IPC10 keynote speakers.

Snares penguins, The Snares

Snares penguins, The Snares

Local organising committee:

   Lloyd S Davis, Phil Seddon, Yolanda van Heezik (University of Otago)
   Thomas Mattern (University of Otago/Global Penguin Society)
   Bruce McKinlay (Department of Conservation)
   Sue Murray (Yellow-Eyed Penguin Trust)
   Philippa Agnew (Oamaru Penguin Colony)
   Hoani Langsbury (Pukekura Trust)

International Scientific Committee:

   Peter Barham (University of Bristol)
   Dee Boersma (University of Washington)
   Pablo Garcia Borboroglu (Global Penguin Society, CONICET)
   Lloyd Davis (University of Otago)
   Sue Murray (Yellow-Eyed Penguin Trust)
   Phil Trathan (British Antarctic Survey)
   Heather Urquhart (New England Aquarium)
   Lauren Waller (Leiden Conservation Fellow, SANCCOB)