5th Circular, 07 February 2019


Welcome to this 5th Circular for the 10th International Penguin Conference being held in Dunedin, New Zealand 24 – 28 August 2019.

This circular contains information about the registrations and a summary of the events linked to the conference.


Registrations are now open. Thank you for your patience while we got the systems sorted. Our sincere thanks to the University of Otago who will manage registrations and finances for this conference.

Early bird registrations will close on 24 May 2019.

The conference registration fee structure is as follows:

Snares penguins, The Snares

Snares penguins, The Snares

Category Cost per person Dates
Standard registration NZ$490.00 Closes 24 May 2019
Student registration NZ$200.00 Closes 24 May 2019
Late registration NZ$690.00 25 May - 24 July 2019
Student late registration NZ$300.00 25 May - 24 July 2019

Please note, at the time of registration you also need to register and pay for field trips and the conference dinner, including for any family or friends that may be attending with you for these events.


Here is a summary of conference events. For more details visit Events & Trips.

Dates (August) Event Costs What's included
Friday 23rd Pre-conference field trip with the Yellow-eyed Penguin Trust to the Otago Peninsula $50 per person Transport
Monday 26th Little Penguin Colony, Oamaru $100 per person Return train trip to Oamaru & picnic dinner box
Tuesday 27th Conference Dinner at Larnach Castle $120 per person Dinner & return transport
Thursday 29th & Friday 30th Fiordland penguins/tawaki in Milford Sound $120 per person Return bus journey to Milford Sound, cruise on the fjord and visit to the Underwater Observatory in Harrison Cove.
Note: You must book your own accomodation in Te Anau for the night of the 29th August! See https://www.fiordland.org.nz/where-to-stay/ for accomodation options.

Local organising committee:

   Lloyd S Davis, Phil Seddon, Yolanda van Heezik (University of Otago)
   Thomas Mattern (University of Otago/Global Penguin Society)
   Bruce McKinlay (Department of Conservation)
   Sue Murray (Yellow-Eyed Penguin Trust)
   Philippa Agnew (Oamaru Penguin Colony)
   Hoani Langsbury (Pukekura Trust)

International Scientific Committee:

   Peter Barham (University of Bristol)
   Dee Boersma (University of Washington)
   Pablo Garcia Borboroglu (Global Penguin Society, CONICET)
   Lloyd Davis (University of Otago)
   Sue Murray (Yellow-Eyed Penguin Trust)
   Phil Trathan (British Antarctic Survey)
   Heather Urquhart (New England Aquarium)
   Lauren Waller (Leiden Conservation Fellow, SANCCOB)