2nd Circular, 3 September 2018


Welcome to this second circular for the 10th International Penguin Conference being held in Dunedin, New Zealand 24-28 August 2019.

This circular contains information about the venue, accommodation, abstracts, conference themes and a timeline. Further information will be added to our website as it is confirmed.


The conference will be held in the St David Theatre Complex at the University of Otago. It is located in the north-west region of the University’s campus, on the corner of St David and Cumberland Streets.


There are many accommodation options available from the cheaper back-packer type to 4-star hotels, and most are within a 20-minute walk of the venue.
Visit https://www.dunedinnz.com for everything you want to know about Dunedin including accommodation options.


Call for Abstracts will open on 01 December 2018. Submission of abstracts will close on 15 March 2019, but please contact the Chair of the conference in the event that you are in the field and not able to make this deadline.

The format for abstract submissions can be found here.


The proposed key themes for this conference are: Fisheries interactions; Climate Change; The role of indigenous people (perspectives from different cultures) and Diseases. The conference organisers will however, be accepting quality abstracts on any aspect of penguin biology and research.


01 December 2018 Abstracts open
01 December 2018 Registrations open
15 March 2019 Abstracts close
19 April 2019 Acceptance of abstracts
24 May 2019 Early registration closes
23 August 2019 Conference opening (Icebreaker)
24 – 28 August 2019 Conference


For those delegates who are wanting to host conference workshops, please could you contact ipc10.dunedin@gmail.com and put “Workshop Proposal” in the subject line


Local organising committee:

   Lloyd S Davis, Phil Seddon, Yolanda van Heezik (University of Otago)
   Thomas Mattern (University of Otago/Global Penguin Society)
   Bruce McKinlay (Department of Conservation)
   Sue Murray (Yellow-Eyed Penguin Trust)
   Philippa Agnew (Oamaru Penguin Colony)
   Hoani Langsbury (Pukekura Trust)

International Scientific Committee:

   Peter Barham (University of Bristol)
   Dee Boersma (University of Washington)
   Pablo Garcia Borboroglu (Global Penguin Society, CONICET)
   Lloyd Davis (University of Otago)
   Sue Murray (Yellow-Eyed Penguin Trust)
   Phil Trathan (British Antarctic Survey)
   Heather Urquhart (New England Aquarium)
   Lauren Waller (Leiden Conservation Fellow, SANCCOB)